Canucks Season Tickets Shimmy
  • RSS

Canucks to announce annual awards April 7 vs. Minnesota Wild

Roger Neilson tribute to be unveiled and Presidents’ Trophy ceremony also to take place

Wednesday, 04.6.2011 / 5:20 PM PT / News
Vancouver Canucks
Share with your Friends

Canucks to announce annual awards April 7 vs. Minnesota Wild

Vancouver, B.C. – The Vancouver Canucks announced today that the annual player awards will be announced when the Canucks play host to the Minnesota Wild, April 7, 2011.

The annual end-of-season awards include:

Cyclone Taylor Trophy – presented to the most valuable player, chosen by fans
Walter (Babe) Pratt Trophy – presented to the most valuable defenceman, chosen by fans
Most Exciting Player – presented to this season’s most exciting player, chosen by fans
Fred J. Hume Award – presented to the unsung hero, chosen by the Booster Club
Cyrus H. McLean Trophy – presented to this season’s leading scorer
Molson Cup Award – presented to the player with the most Three Stars nominations throughout the season, chosen by broadcasters

The awards will be presented April 7 prior to the game versus the Minnesota Wid. Details of the award recipients will be released when available.

Prior to the announcement of the annual awards, the Canucks will unveil a permanent outdoor tribute to Roger Neilson. The unveiling will begin at 6:00 p.m. on the North Plaza at Rogers Arena (corner of Expo Boulevard and Abbott Street). Fans are encouraged to bring white towels to the unveiling.

Following the Roger Neilson tribute unveiling, the Canucks will celebrate the team’s first Presidents’ Trophy with a ceremony prior to the Canucks game versus the Wild. Vancouver secured the Presidents’ Trophy for the first time in franchise history with a win Mar. 31 versus the LA Kings.